Sometimes all it takes is oatmeal.

Hi everybody!

So, I lied. Today will, once again, be a light blogging day, unlike what I promised yesterday. This is because I hit a little road bump when I was doing my summer applications.

I was doing really well getting through all of my apps until this morning. And then I had a slight hiccup.

Meaning I had a full-blown existential, what-am-I-going-to-do-with-my-life, worried about the state of humanity crisis. I started writing a novel. I debated becoming a rockstar. I decided I already was a rockstar and then cried a little while watching Netflix.

But since we’re all adults around here, we man up and deal with the situation. Here’s how:

  1.  Decide to quit real life and become an arctic explorer. Research arctic exploration jobs for 5-plus hours.
  2. Oatmeal!

IMG_0498

Maybe some of you are smart enough just to skip right to the second step. You probably are. Is this what becoming an adult means?

Oatmeal is one of my top five favorite foods in this whole great wide sparkling universe of ours. Truly! I have been known to eat oatmeal for multiple meals a day on occasion. Oatmeal is a delicious, nutty, hearty, warming base for whatever toppings your heart desires! It’s like bread, but way better.

So. Since I make the rules around here, today we’re going to quit talking about existential crises and start talking about oatmeal toppings! If you don’t like oatmeal, know that these toppings would also taste great on just about any type of hot cereal. Also know that we can’t be friends anymore.

(Talking about oatmeal makes me bossy sometimes. I’m sorry.)

Here are my all-time favorite combos:

  1. Crunchy peanut butter + chia seeds + dried strawberries – Peanut butter and chia seeds add crunch, while the dried strawberries balance out the hearty mixture with their delicate sweetness.
  2. Greek yogurt + blueberries – If you haven’t already, you should definitely try mixing in a little plain Greek yogurt into your oatmeal (I usually use about ¼ cup). The yogurt makes the oatmeal deliciously creamy and adds a tanginess that complements the nutty flavor of the oats just right. Add blueberries because you should never not add blueberries.
  3. Pumpkin butter + pecans – This is a fall dream. A little pumpkin butter goes a long way, so don’t add too much at first- you don’t want to overpower the oatmeal! Throw on a couple of chopped (and perhaps toasted?!) pecans, and you’ve got a hearty breakfast that’s perfect for a cold, crisp morning.
  4. Dried cranberries + walnuts – A classic combo. Sweet and nutty. I eat this almost every single morning.
  5. Almond milk + cinnamon  + pumpkin seeds – Creamy with a bit of crunch and spice, this concoction is super comforting. Eat it when you need an extra something to kick your day into gear.
  6. Granola + honey – It might seem a little odd at first to add granola to oatmeal. Isn’t that like, breakfast blasphemy or something? Not in my book! Granola usually has a combination of fruits, nuts, and seeds in it, making it a perfect easy oatmeal topping. I prefer to eat granola as a topping rather than by itself, just because it can be super high in sugar and calories. If your granola is unsweetened, add a little bit of honey or maple syrup!
  7. Avocado + fried egg – Savory oatmeal! It’s a recent discovery of mine and I really love it. Mashed or sliced avocado is combined with a bowl of cooked oats, and a perfectly crispy fried egg is placed on top. Add a dash of sea salt and you have an unorthodox but filling and nutritious breakfast (or lunch, or dinner…).
  8. Toasted coconut + hazelnuts – Tastes a little bit like a mounds bar. That can only be good.
  9. Goat cheese + strawberries + honey – Just like Greek yogurt, a little goat cheese will impart a tangy, creamy quality to your oatmeal. Add berries and some honey or maple syrup to taste to balance out the slightly salty cheese.
  10. Almond butter + banana + cocoa powder– Mashed bananas add just enough natural sweetness to your oats that the addition of some cocoa powder will make your breakfast taste like chocolate putting. Now add on some almond butter, and you’re basically looking at a Reese’s cup for breakfast (except it’s a really, really healthy Reese’s cup!).
Don't forget the coffee :)

Don’t forget the coffee 🙂

What are your oatmeal toppings of choice? 

Leave a Reply

